Share and Share Alike: The Rules of Genealogical Privacy

by Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL    |    Beginner    |    Intermediate    |     BCG     |     2019 Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series     |     Board for Certification of Genealogists     |     Privacy     |

Genealogy by its very nature is collaborative-we need to work together and share information with others, both relatives and non-relatives if we're to succeed in filling out our family trees. But doing family research doesn't mean giving up all semblances of personal privacy, nor is it a license to invade the privacy of others-family or not. All researchers need to follow the rules, both legal and ethical, when we share genealogical information.

 

Presented live at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City as part of the Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series, and sponsored by the Board for Certification of Genealogists.

    Friday, September 06, 2019
  • 1:30pm Eastern
  • 12:30pm Central
  • 11:30am Mountain
  • 10:30am Pacific
  • 5:30pm GMT
  Have I already registered?

Presenter: Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL

A genealogist with a law degree, Judy G. Russell is a lecturer, educator and writer who enjoys helping others understand a wide variety of genealogical issues, including the interplay between genealogy and the law. She has a bachelor's degree in political science and journalism from George Washington University in Washington, D.C. and a law degree from Rutgers School of Law-Newark, and holds Certified Genealogist and Certified Genealogical Lecturer credentials from the Board for Certification of Genealogists where she serves as a member of the Board of Trustees. She has worked as a newspaper reporter, trade association writer, legal investigator, defense attorney, federal prosecutor, law editor and, until recently Judy was an adjunct member of the faculty at Rutgers Law School. Judy is a Colorado native with roots deep in the American south on her mother's side and entirely in Germany on her father's side. Visit her website at www.legalgenealogist.com.

Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL
 
Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL's Upcoming Webinars
Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL's Webinar Library