How to Write a Case Study that Meets the New Standards for DNA: As Codified by the Board for Certification of Genealogists

by Melinda Henningfield, CG    |    Intermediate    |     BCG     |     2019 Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series     |     DNA     |     Board for Certification of Genealogists     |

Mary Jones was female, landless, illiterate, and poor in Arkansas in the mid-nineteenth century. Her husband left her for another woman, her parents and many of her siblings left her for California, and the local courthouse burned to the ground destroying most of the evidence of her life. Mitochondrial and autosomal DNA evidence supports Mary’s inferential connection to her parents and siblings. How then do we write a case study about Mary that meets the new DNA standards.

 

Presented live at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City as part of the Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series, and sponsored by the Board for Certification of Genealogists.

    Friday, September 06, 2019
  • 4:45pm Eastern
  • 3:45pm Central
  • 2:45pm Mountain
  • 1:45pm Pacific
  • 8:45pm GMT
  Have I already registered?

Presenter: Melinda Henningfield, CG

Melinda Daffin Henningfield, CG®, is a professional genealogist, lecturer, and author. She specializes in solving complex genealogical problems involving DNA, separating and identifying individuals with common names, as well as migration, and immigration. She has a bachelor’s degree in history and education from the University of West Florida, a bachelor’s of science degree in Nursing from the University of Tennessee, a master’s of science degree in Nursing from the Oregon Health Sciences University, and a certificate as a Nurse Practitioner.  She has written articles published in BCG's OnBoard, Crossroads, the National Genealogical Society Quarterly, and other genealogical publications. A native of Florida, she has deep southern roots on her mother's side and northeastern and southern ancestry on her father's side. 

Melinda Henningfield, CG
 
Melinda Henningfield, CG's Upcoming Webinars