Reasonably Exhaustive Research: The First Criteria for Genealogical Proof

by Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL    |    Intermediate    |    Advanced    |     BCG     |     2019 Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series     |     Board for Certification of Genealogists     |

Tracking a project from start to finish, this session demonstrates the principles of reasonably exhaustive research and how much is required to prove identity and parentage.

 

Presented live at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City as part of the Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series, and sponsored by the Board for Certification of Genealogists.

    Friday, September 06, 2019
  • 11:00am Eastern
  • 10:00am Central
  • 9:00am Mountain
  • 8:00am Pacific
  • 3:00pm GMT
  Have I already registered?

Presenter: Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL

Elizabeth Shown Mills is a historical writer who has spent her life studying Southern culture and the relationships between people—emotional as well as genetic. Published widely by academic and popular presses, she edited a national-level scholarly journal for sixteen years, taught for thirteen years at a National Archives-based institute on archival records and, for twenty-five years, has headed a university-based program in advanced research methodology. A popular lecturer and past president of both the American Society of Genealogists and the Board for Certification of Genealogists, Elizabeth is the author, editor, and translator of 13 books and over 500 articles in the fields of genealogy, history, literature, and sociology. She has delivered over 1,000 lectures internationally, has appeared on radio and TV talk shows on three continents, and was featured on BBC's 20th and 30th anniversary specials on the novel Roots.

Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL
Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL's Publications
 
Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL's Upcoming Webinars
Elizabeth Shown Mills, CG, CGL's Webinar Library