Geo-Genealogy as a Problem-Solving Tool: The Case of a 19th-Century Female Teenage Immigrant

by J. H. (Jay) Fonkert, CG    |    Intermediate    |     2020 Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series     |     BCG     |

Evidence for the home-country origins of 19th-century immigrants can be hard to find. This lecture illustrates how 3-D genealogy (associations, geography, and time), including an expansive geographical search in American records can produce a tight geographical focus in home-county records, leading to the birth family of a single, teenage girl who landed at New Orleans in 1845. Enjoy a research cruise up and down the Mississippi to gather clues leading to Dena’s German birthplace. Presented as part of the Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series, and sponsored by the Board for Certification of Genealogists.

    Thursday, October 08, 2020
  • 1:15pm Eastern
  • 12:15pm Central
  • 11:15am Mountain
  • 10:15am Pacific
  • 5:15pm GMT
  Have I already registered?

Presenter: J. H. (Jay) Fonkert, CG

J. H. (“Jay”) Fonkert, CG, is a genealogy researcher, educator, and writer, who focuses on 19th-century Midwest research. He is a co-managing editor of Minnesota Genealogist and president of the Minnesota Genealogical Society. He has lectured at numerous regional and national conferences, lectured for genealogy societies in eleven states, and has published more than 80 research and teaching articles, including three in the National Genealogical Society Quarterly. He is a former trustee of the BCG Education Fund and a former director of the Association of Professional Genealogists.

J. H. (Jay) Fonkert, CG
 
J. H. (Jay) Fonkert, CG's Upcoming Webinars