Reconstructing an Entrepreneurial Woman’s Life: From Family Intrigue to Water Rents

by Rick Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA    |    Intermediate    |     BCG     |     2019 Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series     |     Board for Certification of Genealogists     |

Appling the principles of reasonably exhaustive research, the project demonstrates both the process to document the life of a nineteenth century German immigrant from her ancestral village to Allegheny City, Pennsylvania and illustrates how this woman, who was a single parent most of her life, employed her strong entrepreneurial spirt to provide for her family. Both traditional and more obscure urban sources are employed.

 

Presented live at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City as part of the Joy Reisinger Memorial Lecture Series, and sponsored by the Board for Certification of Genealogists.

    Friday, September 06, 2019
  • 6:00pm Eastern
  • 5:00pm Central
  • 4:00pm Mountain
  • 3:00pm Pacific
  • 10:00pm GMT
  Have I already registered?

Presenter: Rick Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA

Rick Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA, is a long-time researcher and instructor in genealogical topics. Rick is also a retired colonel having served 31 years in the U.S. Army. Rick and his wife Pam coordinate the Advanced Land course and Researching in Washington, D.C., without Leaving Home offered by the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy (SLIG) and the Advanced Land course at Genealogical Research Institute of Pittsburgh (GRIP). Rick co-coordinates with Judy Russell, JD, CG, CGL, the Law School for Genealogists at GRIP and the FHL Law Library course at SLIG. He also coordinates the Using Maps in Genealogy course at SLIG. Rick also instructs in the Advanced Methodology course offered by SLIG.  He also lectures at national conferences and presents nationwide seminars. His areas of expertise encompass records of the National Archives, the Bureau of Land Management, and the Daughters of the American Revolution, including military records, land records, using maps in genealogy, urban research, and government documents. Rick is experienced in the localities of western Pennsylvania and Ohio. Rick is also a trustee of the Board for Certification of Genealogists. He is currently serving as the boards president.
Rick Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA
 
Rick Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA's Upcoming Webinars